top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWilliam Briger

Planning: The Most Important Step

For all physical projects, the most important step is to plan out what you are doing.

My first crucial error was that I did not do this step well enough.I started the project in a creative inquiry class in the 2019/2020 year but realized I forgot one major step. I did not know what type of wood I would use or even where I could buy it. This carless error in planning caused me to pause my project and bring it back up in my 2020/2021 CI class.

With the knowledge of the importance of planning in mind, I was able to create a thorough plan of what to do:

Here is the shortened version:

  • Step #1: Select body time and shape we want to add to the guitar

  • Step #2: Trace guitar shape onto card-stock paper and cut out the paper with exacto knife

  • Step #3: Trace cut out onto wood

  • Step #4: Use bandsaw to cut wood along sharpie lines

  • step #5: Sand down sides to make closer to sharpie line shape

  • step #6: Sand down entire guitar to make shape nice for use

  • step #7: Cut out pick up pick up and neck holes

  • step #8: Lichenburg burn the guitar to add design shape

  • step #9: Fill lichtenburg burn with blue and red epoxy

  • Step #10: Build box in neck and pickup holes to prevent Epoxy Pour in

  • Step #11: Cover surface with clear epoxy

  • Step #12: add the neck, strings, and pickups

I also had to do research on how to make a guitar because my basic knowledge plan could fall apart if I didn’t understand the importance of pickups, wood, and the neck. I learned a lot about the art of lutherie and decided, though Les paul’s (the guitar shape I chose) are made of Magnolia, Swamp Ash wood, a much softer and cleaning sounding wood might make a different, but vibrant sound with the Les paul shapes and pickups.


I will use Swamp Ash and a les paul shape to make my final product.



2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page